Kerala Beat West Bengal 5-4 on Penalties to Clinch seventh Santosh Trophy Title | Santosh Trophy Title 2022 | Kerala 5-4 West Bengal

Malappuram, May 2: Kerala clinched their seventh Santosh Trophy title on residence soil for the primary time since 1993 because the Bino George coached aspect beat West Bengal 5-4 on penalties at Manjeri Payyanad Football Stadium right here on Monday.Also Read – UAE Based Businessman to Give Rs 1 Crore To Kerala Team If It Wins Santosh Trophy

The Kerala aspect failed to interrupt by means of the Bengal protection within the regulation time, because of skilled goalkeeper Priyant Kumar Singh. Also Read – Final Round of Santosh Trophy Postponed Due to Coronavirus Outbreak

The file 32-time champions, aiming to avenge their remaining defeat at residence in 2016-17, went forward within the extra-time by means of a sensational diving header by Dilip Orawn (97th), brilliantly arrange by Supriya Pandit from the left. Also Read – Punjab Bank on Home Support in Santosh Trophy Final Against Services

But Bengal defence spearheaded by skipper Monotosh Chakladar crumbled within the final 4 minutes of extra-time in what was an motion replay of Bengal’s objective.

Just when the gang turned hostile and began throwing bottles from the stands, it was Bibin Ajayan who scored the equaliser with a leaping header after being arrange by Noufal PN from the precise flank to drive a penalty shootout.

Bengal kicked off the penalty shootout with Dilip Orawn’s strike however of their second try Sajal Bag shot vast which turned decisive ultimately.

Bablu Ora, Tanmoy Ghosh and goalkeeper Priyant transformed their possibilities and within the remaining try they left the large job for substitute goalkeeper Raja Burman to disclaim Kerala the successful penalty.

Burman tried his finest however Faslurahman Methukayil sealed it, taking pictures the ball into the highest nook to clinch the title.

Having crushed Bengal 2-0 within the group stage, Kerala, thus, did a double on the Ranjan Bhattacharya-coached aspect.

It was a contrasting story of two halves with Bengal dominating the primary 45 minutes, whereas Kerala got here shut on a number of events after the changeover.

It was courtesy a valiant show below the bar by their keeper Priyant Kumar Singh that Bengal saved their hopes alive of bringing the Trophy again residence.

The finest save by Priyant got here within the thirty third minute when he parried away an outstanding strike by Viknesh M to carry on to the clear slate.

Two minutes later, Priyant was once more within the thick of the motion, this time denying Sanju G.

Bengal’s high ahead Molla had a forgettable outing and squandered a few possibilities within the first-half.

The hosts pressed arduous within the second-half with event top-scorer Jijo Joseph and Vikensh making a wave of assaults however Bengal defence denied all their efforts because the goalless stalemate prevailed in regulation time.

(With Inputs From PTI)

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.